Golden Globes Awards return with nominations, diverse ceremony

Selenis Leyva and Mayan Lopez at the 80th Golden Globe Awards nomination announcement. Photo: Harmony Gerber/HFPA

By Gina Yarbrough

Los Angeles, CA–The 80th annual Golden Globes Awards will return to the air in January after a year-long absence due to controversial issues over the lack of diversity among its members in the Hollywood Foreign Press Association.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association has made changes over the year to increase diversity in its memberships and added a diverse presence to its ceremony.

Comedian Jerrod Carmichael was selected to host the Golden Globes awards. In addition, George and Mayan Lopez, creators, and stars of the new NBC comedy “Lopez vs Lopez,” will present the five nominees for each of the 27 award categories at the ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Helen Hoehne, who was recently re-elected as president of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, stated she was “optimistic” about the future of the association, and the future of the Golden Globes.

“This is a vote of confidence in the changes we have made and the course we have charted in moving the HFPA forward with its reforms towards greater diversity, integrity, and transparency,” Hoehne stated in a news release. 

The HFPA recently announced the introduction of 103 new voters to its ranks, marking the first time voters based outside the U.S. have been added to the voting pool. This diverse voting body is now represented by 62 different countries. Combined with the current HFPA membership, the total Golden Globe Awards voting body is now 52% female, 51.5% racially and ethnically diverse, with 19.5% Latinx, 12% Asian, 10% Black, and 10% Middle Eastern.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association announced a list of 2023 nominations from the film and television categories on Monday.

2023 Golden Globe nominees:

Best Motion Picture (Drama) 

“Top Gun: Maverick”



“Avatar: The Way of Water”

“The Fabelmans”

Best Motion Picture (Musical or Comedy) 

“Triangle of Sadness”


“Everything Everywhere All at Once”

“The Banshees of Inisherin”

“Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”

Best Picture – Animated

“Marcel the Shell With Shoes On”

“Puss in Boots: The Last Wish”

“Turning Red”

“Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio”


Best Picture – Non-English Language


“Decision to Leave”


“All Quiet on the Western Front”

“Argentina, 1985”

Best Actor – Motion Picture (Drama)

Hugh Jackman – “The Son”

Bill Nighy – “Living”

Jeremy Pope – “The Inspection”

Austin Butler – “Elvis”

Brendan Fraser – “The Whale”

Best Actress – Motion Picture (Drama)

Viola Davis – “The Woman King”

Ana de Armas – “Blonde”

Michelle Williams – “The Fabelmans”

Cate Blanchett – “Tár”

Olivia Colman – “Empire of Light”

Best Actor – Motion Picture (Musical or Comedy) 

Adam Driver – “White Noise”

Colin Farrell – “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Ralph Fiennes – “The Menu”

Diego Calva – “Babylon”

Daniel Craig – “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”

Best Actress – Motion Picture (Musical or Comedy)

Anya Taylor-Joy – “The Menu”

Emma Thompson – “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”

Michelle Yeoh – “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Lesley Manville – “Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris”

Margot Robbie – “Babylon”

Best Actor Supporting Role (Motion Picture) 

Brad Pitt – “Babylon”

Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Eddie Redmayne, -“The Good Nurse”

Brendan Gleeson – “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Barry Keoghan – “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Best Actress Supporting Role (Motion Picture)

Jamie Lee Curtis – “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Dolly de Leon – “Triangle of Sadness”

Carey Mulligan – “She Said”

Angela Bassett – “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”

Kerry Condon – “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Best Director – Motion Picture

Baz Luhrmann – “Elvis”

Martin McDonagh – “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Steven Spielberg – “The Fabelmans”

James Cameron – “Avatar: The Way of Water”

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert – “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Original Song (Motion Picture) 

“Hold My Hand” from “Top Gun: Maverick” (Lady Gaga, BloodPop, Benjamin Rice) 

“Lift Me Up” from “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (Tems, Rihanna, Ryan Coogler and Ludwig Göransson) 

“Naatu Naatu” from “RRR” (M.M. Keeravani, Kala Bhairava and Rahul Sipligunj)

“Ciao Papa” from “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” (Alexandre Desplat, Roeban Katz and Gullermo del Toro) 

“Carolina” from “Where the Crawdads Sing” (Taylor Swift)

Best Score – Motion Picture

Carter Burwell – “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Alexandre Desplat – “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio”

Hildur Gudnadóttir – “Women Talking”

Justin Hurwitz, “Babylon”

John Williams, “The Fabelmans”

Best Television Series (Drama) 

“House of the Dragon”



“Better Call Saul”

“The Crown”

Best Television Series (Musical or Comedy)


“Only Murders in the Building”


“Abbott Elementary”

“The Bear”

Best Actor Television Series (Drama)

Diego Luna – “Andor”

Bob Odenkirk – “Better Call Saul”

Adam Scott – “Severance”

Jeff Bridges – “The Old Man”

Kevin Costner – “Yellowstone”

Best Actress Television Series (Drama) 

Imelda Staunton – “The Crown”

Hilary Swank – “Alaska Daily”

Zendaya – “Euphoria”

Emma D’Arcy – “House of the Dragon”

Laura Linney – “Ozark”

Best Actor Television Series (Musical or Comedy) 

Steve Martin – “Only Murders in the Building”

Martin Short – “Only Murders in the Building”

Jeremy Allen White – “The Bear”

Donald Glover – “Atlanta”

Bill Hader – “Barry”

Best Actress Television Series (Musical or Comedy) 

Selena Gomez – “Only Murders in the Building”

Jenna Ortega – “Wednesday”

Jean Smart – “Hacks”

Quinta Brunson – “Abbott Elementary”

Kaley Cuoco – “The Flight Attendant”

Best Limited Series, Anthology Series or Television Motion Picture

“The Dropout”

“Pam & Tommy”

“The White Lotus”

“Black Bird”

“Dahmer-Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”

Best Actor – Limited Series, Anthology Series or Television Motion Picture

Andrew Garfield – “Under the Banner of Heaven”

Evan Peters – “Dahmer-Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”

Sebastian Stan – “Pam & Tommy”

Taron Egerton – “Black Bird”

Colin Firth – “The Staircase”

Best Actress – Limited Series, Anthology Series or Television Motion Picture

Lily James – “Pam & Tommy”

Julia Roberts – “Gaslit”

Amanda Seyfried – “The Dropout”

Jessica Chastain – “George & Tammy”

Julia Garner – “Inventing Anna”

Best Supporting Actress – Television Limited Series/Motion Picture

Daisy Edgar-Jones – “Under the Banner of Heaven”

Niecy Nash – “Dahmer-Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”

Aubrey Plaza – “The White Lotus”

Jennifer Coolidge – “The White Lotus”

Claire Danes – “Fleishman Is in Trouble”

Best Actor Supporting Role in a Series, Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television 

Paul Walter Hauser – “Black Bird”

Richard Jenkins – “Dahmer-Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”

Seth Rogen – “Pam & Tommy”

F. Murray Abraham – “The White Lotus”

Domhnall Gleeson – “The Patient”

The Golden Globe Awards show is set to air on Jan. 10, 2023 on NBC and will be live streamed on Peacock.



Similar Posts