The Academy’s Governors Awards rescheduled to Jan. 9

Top left, Angela Bassett and Mel Brooks. Bottom left, Carol Littleton and Michelle Satter. Photo: Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences

By Gina Yarbrough

Los Angeles, CA–The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 14th annual Governors Awards has been rescheduled from November 18 to January 9, 2024, at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles, Academy officials said.

The awards ceremony will present Honorary Awards to Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks, and editor Carol Littleton, and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to the Sundance Institute’s Michelle Satter. 

The Academy says the Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”

The 14th Governors Awards is supported by Rolex, the exclusive watch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.  

Similar Posts