Coronado Island Film Festival badges on sale

By Gina Yarbrough

Coronado, CA–The Coronado Island Film Festival returns for its 8th season this fall with the opening of badge sales. 

Festival screenings will be held from November 8 to 12 and will include panels, parties, special engagements, and a premiere gala event. The Leonard Maltin Industry Tribute Awards Gala will be held at the Loews Coronado Bay Resort.

The all-inclusive Emerald Badge gives attendees access to early reservations for films, events, parties, a priority entry line, a kick-off bash (Taste of the Festival), an Opening Night film and after party, jury awards, panels, Culinary Cinema Series, MasterLab Workshops, and hosted weekend happy hours.

An Industry Badge is open to professionals in the entertainment industry. Attendees will receive the same features and perks as the Emerald Badge at a discounted rate. 

This year’s honorary Gala Chair is Carolynn Berardi Towbin, longtime Coronado Island Film Festival Benefactor and CEO and Dealer/Principle of Towbin Motorcars.

In 2022, the Coronado Island Film Festival honored Geena Davis with the Legacy Award, with other honorees including Jaqueline Bisset, Elegance Bratton, and Ron Shelton. In 2021, Previous honorees included Nancy Utley in recognition of her 21-year legacy and stewardship of Searchlight Pictures resulting in many of Searchlight’s most successful films to date with a total of 122 Golden Globe and 165 Oscar nominations including Best Picture Winners for “Nomadland,” “The Shape of Water,” “12 Years a Slave,” “Birdman,” and “Slumdog Millionaire.” 

In 2020, the Leonard Maltin Award went to Director Chloé Zhao, who went on to win the Academy Award for Best Director and Best Film for “Nomadland,” becoming the first woman of color, first Asian, and the second woman to receive this honor. Other honorees include Cloris Leachman with the Legacy Award, Oscar-winning Composers Alexandre Desplat and Kris Bowers, Oscar-winning actor and civics activist, Richard Dreyfuss, Oscar-nominated music legend, Diane Warren, and icons Michelle Philips and Stephen Bishop, actors Andy Garcia, Jacob Trembly and legacy actress Ann Blyth.

Continuing this year with strong submissions, the film festival will showcase another solid lineup of films stemming across all genres. 

“It is hard to believe CIFF is celebrating its 8th year! 2023 is going to be a phenomenal year for cinematic stories, independent film, industry guests, networking and our incredible attendees all coming together to create an unforgettable festival experience!,” states CEO and Artistic Director, Merridee Book.

For festival information, or to purchase tickets and memberships please visit

Similar Posts