Gov. Newsom proclaims State of Emergency in 13 counties due to winter storms

Sacramento, CA–Working to support Californians impacted by severe winter storms, Governor Gavin Newsom proclaimed a state of emergency to support disaster response and relief in the counties of Amador, Kern, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, Nevada, San Bernardino, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sierra, Sonoma, and Tulare.

The governor has also activated the State Operations Center to bring state support to county-led emergency response efforts and coordinate mutual aid from neighboring jurisdictions, especially in San Bernardino County. Significant numbers of state personnel are on the ground supporting San Bernardino County, including the Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES), Caltrans, and the California Highway Patrol, working closely with the county-led Incident Command to rapidly deploy resources and address emergency management needs.

Cal OES is working with Caltrans and San Bernardino County officials to bring in additional snow plows as well as road crews, and personnel from CAL FIRE and the California National Guard are readied to support operations. The state is also contracting with private companies to accelerate snow removal and clear roadways and is coordinating with investor-owned utilities to rapidly restore power.

Cal OES is coordinating with local officials to open two shelters for residents in San Bernardino County and is coordinating with law enforcement to escort power companies, food and water deliveries, and service providers for vulnerable populations.



Similar Posts